Tags

, , , , , ,

A few days ago, at my school, we were invited to attend an all day meeting. It was provided as a drop in/out format with no required attendance. It was listed as a productive chat session to address the issues of hall-walkers and truants.

Believe it or not, this is a HUGE issue at our school. For years, we have had to battle the what to do with the apathy and disinterest in success. It is a battle quite frankly, my school has not been winning. There are students that cut class and walk the halls all day. All Day. They have attendance as far as being in the building but they don’t attend classes. One of these students in in my senior ELA class and he has 24 credits out of 44 needed for graduation. Sad. He is one of many.

An AP that works here has had the audacity to make several times the statement that “if teachers had more interesting lessons, these kids wouldn’t cut class.” I have personally witnessed her say it. Let me just say this statement is extremely offensive. Offensive to students, teachers, parents, all parties involved in Education.

Many students skip class or school for various reasons. To solely blame it on a teacher is irresponsible as an administrator. It removes the student and their world from the focus. Many of my students skip class because of drug addictions/use, extremely long commutes, depression, anger issues, neglect, nutritional issues, transportation issues, gambling addictions, mental illness, childcare issues in house, community influence such as gang life, lack of academic support, fatigue, fear, and never forget the good ole teenage apathy. To say that if we were ‘more interesting’ kids would choose to go to class is disgusting. 

This has come up for me as a prickly topic because at the meeting I attended this week regarding hall walkers, an outsider rang out with this sentiment. A man from some organization was brought in to assist us with this issue. However he began the session by saying that teachers need to get to know these children. 

It took everything in me to not throw my bag into his smug face. F U sir. I am so tired of someone who hasn’t even bothered to get to know me try to tell me that I need to get to know these children. First of all, these children are my children. I know them. I know their families. I know their phone numbers. I listen to their ideas, their hopes, their arguments. I grade their papers. I look them in the eye and treat them as young adults and cherished people. I call them family. 

Don’t come up in here and tell me I need to get to know these kids and everything will be fine. Don’t tell me you know the projects or grew up on the projects and think that it automatically qualifies you as their advocate. Where will you be tomorrow? Will you give up lunch for 186 days to tutor my kids or help them with their homework? Where are you when they need help writing a resume, writing an essay, a thank you card and for some writing their names. Will you be there when they have to ask their parents for financial documents in order to go to college, or help them apply, or help them explain their dreams to their families? Are you donating that expensive suit when my kids need to go to court, an interview or funeral? Are you bringing snacks today? Are you going to the birthday parties, barbecues, graduations and memorial services? Are you willing to hug a known gang member and teach him to read? Are you willing to do this when you often will not be thanked or even appreciated- you may even be blamed?

I didn’t think so. 

Get to know a teacher before  you claim to know how to fix education by blaming teachers.  Get to know a teacher and ask, “Can I help?” Then simply show up, everyday and do it. Listen, learn and be a lasting presence. 

Get to know a teacher and help them guide their community. Get to know a teacher and be a part of our future. 

These children are our children.